Military Firearm Restoration Corner

Ive Got An Interesting Resto About To Happen

mrontime

Im currently researching and getting ready to do the prep teardown on my grandfathers meriden 12guage double barrel shotgun. when he was 20 he found it discarded or lost in a ditch lol. his buddy, the sheriff at the time told him to keep it lol and gave him a 32 caliber pistol he had taken off a criminal as a carry peice. the gun didnt work and sat in my grandfathers gun cabinet all his life. now its in my gun cabinet and i would like to at least make it a nice wall hanger. the little bit of research ive done let to a healthy value for this gun too, which is something to consider when restoring a gun. so I know im new to this wonderland. this is a really cool forum by the way. does anyone have any advice? any suggestions? thanks in advance

If it has significant value now, the only added value that you may be able put into it would be to make it clean and functional. By that, I mean spring repairs, cleaning, and oiling. Careful rust removal is good, but removing patina might be bad. Stripping the original wood finish might be bad as well, although a gentle rubbing of boiled linseed oil should be OK.

Restored doesn't necessarily equate to increased value. Be very careful.

Just to expand a bit on GunNutty's advice, so as not to hurt the collector value, you don't want to try to polish and make look more near to new removing patina. Removing actual dirt would be OK. You want to care for and preserve the existing condition. Even for repairs you

would want to save the original broken parts and be extremely careful not to damage screws

upon disassembly.

Tinker

Thank you for the translation :)

I'll expand on tinkerfive's expansion of my original response. Collectors are realistic: if something is 100 years old, it's OK if it looks 100 years old.