Military Firearm Restoration Corner

May Have To Build An Ar Type Rifle

karlunity

I have never liked the AR since my first m16 but guys the way the prices are dropping I may HAVE to build an AR just becouse.

If that happens what barrel twist? I tend to like a rifle that will reach out about 500 meters.

karl

1:8 is a good choice. 1:7 is good for the even heavier bullets, but may be somewhat questionable on regular 52 grain stuff. If you're not planning on shooting 70+ GR bullets at 1000 yards and single feeding them because they don't fit in a magazine, then in my opinion, 1:8 is what you want.

Thank you sir. 1:8 it shall be.

Another question?

I have heard of ARs taking 762/39 as I a fair amount of that and brass and reloading and tend to like the 7.62 round. What of an Ar in 7.6//39?

karl

I have no direct experience with that, but it is my understanding that you can get a 7.62x39 upper and a magazine and use the same lower. They were kinda popular for a while, but you don't hear too much about them anymore. This place: http://www.mapartsinc.com advertises in SGN (now _Firearms News_) and has 7.62x39 uppers for a bit over five bills. There are probably cheaper ones out there. I think I saw uppers for like $250 at the last Really Big Gun Show, including 300 BO, but I wasn't looking for 7.62x39. Different bolt, for one thing, and then the mags are different.

I suggest picking a theme. M4, designated marksman, M16A2, varminter, etc., and going for that. If you are going to go short, like 16", then "they say" to go with the "mid length" gas tube. The short gas tube over gasses it. Build a 223/556 rifle first. And the latest thing is the "223 Wylde" chamber, which is inbetween a 556 and a 223 dimensions (which is really, really small in difference) and "they say" is better for accuracy and will shoot anything without problems. My big varminter is in 223 Wylde. Otherwise, get the 556 chamber.