Military Firearm Restoration Corner

Mauser Double Trigger?

rivitir

As you know I'm working on my Mauser project. And the other night I was watching a movie and noticed the rifle the "hero" was sporting looked like a Mauser. It has a spoon handle on the bolt and a double set/hair trigger. Very similar to the picture I attached, a very beautiful rifle.

The trigger and finger guard I can't find anywhere. Know of a place I can get one? Do you think this would be good or should I just stick with a single trigger?

I've never used a double trigger before so I wanted to ask the group what your thoughts are compared to something like a Timney?

post-5608-126758385047_thumb.png

Your rifle, your call.

The Timney Featherweight series is adjustable down to a few ounces. Does not require a new trigger guard.

Double Set triggers been around for over a hundred years (way cool) but require a lot of meticulous fitting and tuning and a new longer (shotgun style) trigger guard.

As Z1 stated, the parts are available from NECG and Brownells. Those aat Brownells, I believe, are actualy from NECG. NECG imports them from Germany, made by Recnagle or AKAH.

A shotgun bow is not necessary for a double set trigger on a Mauser when using the proper components but looks much better, in my opinion. I have rifles done both ways.

The parts are not cheap and there is a bit of hand fitting.

I think a single set trigger can also be purchased. These act like a normal trigger or push the trigger forward to set the trigger.

Vlad

Double Set triggers been around for over a hundred years (way cool) but require a lot of meticulous fitting and tuning and a new longer (shotgun style) trigger guard.

Are you saying single triggers are more reliable or that it just takes more time in order to install a double trigger?

... I was watching a movie and noticed the rifle the "hero" was sporting looked like a Mauser. It has a spoon handle on the bolt and a double set/hair trigger...