Military Firearm Restoration Corner

Poor Accuracy In Swedish Mauser

drgoose

Again this is my first project and I am doing it with a local gunsmith that kind of lets me work in his shop and learn from what he is doing. So this is a M96 that got put on a Ram-Line Stock and the action has been bedded all the way up the beginning of the barrel, after that it is free floating. The barrel has dark groves but good rifling without obvious rust.

I have shot the rifle 2 times, both with 20 rounds each in 5 shot groups and both times the first group was about 3 inches, the second group was about 1 inch in diameter and then they got progressively larger until the last one looked like a shotgun pattern. The way I am reading this is that the barrel being so thin is very temperature sensitive and I am afraid that there will be no solution to this problem other than changing the barrel or not letting it get hot. My gunsmith has also the theory that because the barrel is so long and thin it is vibrating a lot and that it might be worth a try to bed the whole barrel. I am not conviced of that and I am kind of leaning towards just taking the barrel off and putting on a new one.

Any ideas? Thanks

Mauser1.jpg

Could be a couple things going on here. If your groups continue to deteriorate, check the barrel for copper build up in the muzzle area, and that build up can toss bullets all over the place. You didn't indicate what ammo you were using, but the fast twist milspec barrels do prefer the longer heavier bullets. If the barrel heats up, try spacing your 5 shot groups farther apart to allow some cooling.

I've never cared for Ramline stocks because they are very flexible in the forend, and if you support the rifle over bags, even with the barrel floated, the flex may allow the stock to touch the barrel at different points, depending on the hold. Swede barrels are coveted for their accuracy potential, but conditions need to be right for that accuracy.

Spiris