Military Firearm Restoration Corner

FM Sniper/ATI stock

spec4 e4

FM Sniper,

I am having trouble fitting my Yugo M48 w/ PH barrel into my ATI stock. I am also using an bold trigger w/o safety. The barrel wants to go right when I put the barrel action into the stock. The trigger was hitting the back wall and I remove the some material and still I am having problems, Also when I tighten the screw, the trigger will not work.

Thanks to anyone that can help.

Spec.4

I have zero experience w/ ATI stocks. But I would put a transfer medium, Like "white-out" on suspected contact areas of the action, and look for it on the stock after assembly and disassenbly. this should tell ya where hardware is making contact w/ the stock... Good luck. MV

I've had the same problem with the Bolt trigger not working when the action screws were tightened,and I finally removed a little more material under the trigger,and it worked like a charm.The last torque on the screws would bind the trigger up.Jerry

The ATI stock is meant for a standard length M98, the Yugo M48 is an intermediate length action.

There is a difference in the stock screw spacing.

Your best bet is to get a Boyds stock for M48, or a bell and carson m96 stock and modify it for the m48 (others have done this with some success).

Jimro

Guest Guest_kenak2_*

The ati stock is adjustable, it can be used fro either standard or intermediate length actions.

I put one on a 48 yugo for a friend a couple years ago.

I do remember having bedding problems and had to do some grinding with a dremel.

I checked ATI's sight and they list the M48 as a fit in that stock, so I guess you have to do some more inletting or check the fit between the bottom metal and the trigger to figure out why things aren't working.