Military Firearm Restoration Corner

Blueing And Parkerizing

8uck5nort

I found a 30 inch Stainless tank for around 100 bucks. I found a 24 inch tank with a SS basket with ss handle for 59 bucks (it's actually a fish poacher but will work). The extra six inches is probably a good thing, but cost is always a concern.

Do you guys typically pull the barrels and do the barrel/action seperate which then makes the 24 inch adequate for anything I'll be doing, or do you try and do them attached to each other?

Question I got is do you want to parkerize the inside of a barrel or chamber?

Can you parkerize everything? To me it would seem you would not want to parkerize the inside of your barrel, but I don't really know. How about the action rails? bolt? firing pins, etc...

I'm not an expert, but it is my understanding that one never blues/parkerizes the inside of the barrel. Have you ever seen one blued/parkerized? I haven't. They plug the ends of the barrel before dropping it in the tank. And I think they do the actions with the barrels on them. A hundred bucks for a stainless tank that size seems kinda high to me. Stainless is like a buck or two a pound, and a 18ga or thinner tank for blueing shouldn't be that much. Try a sheet metal shop that does a lot of stainless and show them a drawing or picture.