Military Firearm Restoration Corner

Barrel Vise And Action Wrench

CurtInAtl

I have been fooling around a bit with mostly milsurps for the last 10 years or so. Mostly just refinishing stocks and touching up metal finish or swapping out a few parts and such. I do work on AR's but then as long as the barrel extension is on the barrel that's doesn't take any real skills.

Now I've decided to take a shot at building my own rifle. Nothing serious, just hobby stuff. One of the things I am looking at is a barrel vice and action wrench.

I have been looking at a Wheeler engineering wrench since I will pretty much be sticking with Mauser actions. The Tubb barrel vice looks like about the best for the money, $55 = $15 shipping.

Are these good tools or is there something else I should be looking at?

I can rent the reamer and headspace gauges.

I don't have room for anything as big as a lathe, and don't know how to run one anyway, but I do have a good vice, bench grinder, buffer, and plenty of hand tools. My next equipment purchase is probably going to be drill press, I do know how to run that.

I am nearly 58 and looking for something that I like to do that can keep me busy when I retire in a few years.

On a Mauser, rear entry wrenches like the Tubb are not effective with the really tight barrels that you are liable to encounter on military rifles. I would suggest that you look at a Brownells wrench and also their barrel vise.

For what it is worth, there is a good deal of variance in dimensions between Mauser actions. That means that rebarreling without a lathe is a crapshoot, as more often than not you will have to shorten the tenon or push back the secondary recoil shoulder. You may be able to make a rifle that is safe to shoot, but making one as accurate as possible requires fitting that barrel, and that means you really need to have a lathe.

Clemson