Military Firearm Restoration Corner

Pattern 14 Dp

Gun

Howdy Folks!

With the barrels being slugged/welded through the chamber right in front of the receiver ring how can a person know if it is safe to use the actions for building a new rifle?

The heat on the ring is my main, only actually, concern.

Thanks!

I'm not an expert. However, Shotgun News has had some home-gunsmitting articles on this stuff. Is this a 1903 we're talking about? The SGN article mentioned that the welding jobs done were pathetic, with likely zero penetration, much less heat damage further out. You'd have to inspect it yourself, though. You could pull it all apart and take a file to the ring in an inconspicuous place and see how hard it seems. Or you could send it off to be heat treated if you were really worried. Some of them weren't even hardened that much at the factory.

And welcome to the board.

Howdy Dr. Hess!

Thank you for the welcome.

No I am talking about the Pattern 14 made by Remington, Eddystone and Winchester for the English for World War One and later used in World War Two. It is the 303 British and earlier version of the U.S. M1917 .30-06 (U.S. Enfield).

I have a Winchester and Remington model and I have pulled the barrels of off both. The welds look to only have just barely penetrated the barrels.