Military Firearm Restoration Corner

Siamese Mauser Conversion To .45-70

FenderBender

I have recently purchased a Siamese Mauser action that I would like to send to ER Shaw for conversion to .45-70. Looking over their gunsmithing prices I have put together the list of services I believe I will need:

Alter Siamese Mauser actions for .45-70 cal.

Forge and polish bolt handle for scope

Drill and tap action for Leupold or Weaver bases

Premium polish and blue of action

Code 1 thru 5 barrel, finished, chambered and threaded for your action, 4140

Fit and testfire barrel to Bolt Actions

I am new to converting a Siamese Mauser action, am I leaving out any necessary or recommended services?

What would be the recommended barrel length, contour, and twist?

Would I be better off with a Leupold or Weaver scope?

Any information that you could provide would be greatlly appreciated.

Thanks,

Ben

I think the smallest barrel contour that Shaw offers for the 45/70 is #3 (a varmit contour).

Looking at the dimensions, the forward chamber shoulder sits 1/2" forward compared to standard sporter barrels.

I'd consider having them set the barrel back 1/2" for a more pleasing barrel profile.

You don't mention anything about twist. The .45 barrels come in either 1-20" or 1-14". The 1-20" is typical for slower 45/70 trapdoor velocities, and the 1-14" is more for the .458 Win. A souped-up 45/70 would sit somewhere in between. Oh, decisions, decisions...

Does it have to be a 45/70? De Haas specifies the Siamese as a good candidate for the .458 American (.458X2"). That would also make it an excellent candidate for the .450 Marlin.

If your action was already well blued, you could spend a little more and get a stainless barrel, and omit the barrel blueing. It would be a wash on cost, but stainless is nice.