Military Firearm Restoration Corner

Career Options

Jimro

Well the Air Force officer recruiter gave me the skinny on my odds of becoming an Air Force officer, less than one in ten. Unless I want to be a lab jockey chemist.

Which is ironic since my degree is in chemistry, but I don't want to spend the next fifteen years in a lab. There is nearly a 100% chance the AF would take me as a chemist, it is a "Technical" field, where a 2.5 gpa is all that is required. The last OTS board only had three applicants for the "Technical" (science and engineering) fields, they are so hurting for electrical engineers that they don't even have a grade requirement. My grades were around the 2.8 range, but since I want a "Non-Technical" job then the recommended GPA for the OTS Board is 3.2 or higher, and the records show that they prefer MUCH higher.

However, I could still enlist in the AF, directly into the field I want to be working, combat controller. However, the chances of earning a commission are still about the same, but I would have until 34 to earn a commission.

Which means that the Army becomes a better alternative. Much easier for me to get into OCS, practically assured. Practically assured that I'll get the field of my choice as well. Or I could reup and stay enlisted, maybe apply for an OCS slot before I hit 29.

I have no idea what the Marine Corps offers, and I have no interest in being in the Navy.

I loved my job on Active duty, but after spending time with a hospital unit in the Reserves left a bad taste in my mouth. I was looking for a different taste of BS in the Air Force.

I want to serve, but I also want to take care of my wife, and start a family.

My only real option for an officer career is the Army, the AF looks like it is enlisted only for me at this time. Even in a time of war the AF gets more OTS applications than it needs, by a factor of 8.