Military Firearm Restoration Corner

Mauser Takedown

slseacrist

First i would like to say I have been bumming around for a while, and like what I see. I have been sporterizing for that last 10 years. I am interested in sporterizing a mauser, either a Swedish 96, of a larger ring mauser. The plan is to make it into a takedown. I am thinking of using interrupted threads and some kind of homemade locking system. I am planning, of course, to practice on a Turk. Does any one have any experience with this, advice, or comments. Thanks in advance. SS

There was a thread about this a while back.

The approach was to use a set screw to secure the barrel and forarm. It looked good to me, but of course there are more elegant solutions.

Don't have much time right now, but you should be able to track it down with the search. I'll try myself tomorrow.

i"ve done one with a turk and a rem.700 takeoff barrel ,using a setscrew to hold barrel...you will need a longer set of threads if you want to try interrupted threads .i welded a lug to the bottom of the barrel ,drilled and taped it to hold barrel to forestock..then cut the stock with a thin saw blade ..

http://img.villagephotos.com/p/2005-4/988983/MVC-012S.JPG

http://img.villagephotos.com/p/2005-4/988983/MVC-011S.JPG

How about using the Savage system? You could turn the greater diameter of the barrel ahead or the receiver threads to 1.055 and thread 20 V TPI. Then you could use a standard Savage barrel nut to tighten things down. Barrels could then be easily switched using the nut wrench and a headspace gauge.

A classy way is to fit a seperate forend to each barrel and use a latch in the foreend to secure the barrel.

Guest Guest_bilurey_*

Taking on another of the easier conversions are we? M98 cocking piece peep sight, converting M71/84 Mauser to M98, converting Arisaka type 38 action to something attractive to look at?