Military Firearm Restoration Corner

1939 8Mm Turkish Mauser

Guest Acts 11:7

I have been trolling this site for a couple months. I recently got 1939 8mm Turkish Mauser.

First thing I did was clean it really well. I have shot 10 rounds through it. It shot about a 5 inch group at 100 yards for me so I am sure the barrel is good enough for me to sporterize this gun. The barrel and action have lots of pits, but I put my way through college at a mold polishing shop so I was able to get the action to a 220 finish with little effort.

One question I have is what do most of you do with the ring that is on the end of the action? I removed mine to find it was threaded on. Is there a ring I can buy to thread back on that will disguise the step from the action to the barrel? Or should I consider grinding the threads off and live with the step. I thought about machining them off, but realize I would then have to modify the barrel and I just dont want to do that knowing it shoots a decent group with factory ammo as is.

Another question is how to fill the rear site set screw hole? I think I should do this before I turn the barrel down. Any suggestions?

Thanks for all the help.

One question I have is what do most of you do with the ring that is on the end of the action? I removed mine to find it was threaded on. Is there a ring I can buy to thread back on that will disguise the step from the action to the barrel? Or should I consider grinding the threads off and live with the step.

Another question is how to fill the rear site set screw hole? I think I should do this before I turn the barrel down. Any suggestions?

Thanks for all the help.

Can you post a photo of what you are referring to?

If you are referring to the hand guard retainer ring, I've never seen one that was threaded. I'd like to see a photo.

When sporterizing a Turk most of us will remove this ring by grinding, filing , mill or whatever. Only Turks have this ring, to my knowledge.