Military Firearm Restoration Corner

New Press

ken98k

I have been using my Lee Challenger press for about 20 years and it still works fine but, recently I notice some flex when running 30-06 cases through my 338-06 resizer.

Since most of my reloading equipment is from Lee, I bought a Lee Classic Cast press and I'm very happy with the purchase. This afternoon, just as an experiment I ran a few .270 cases through the same 338-06 die with very little effort and no flex.

I have been quite satisfied with almost all my Lee products except the scale and powder measure that came with my anniversary kit, they were both junk and were replaced long ago with an RCBS scale and a Redding powder measure.

I have been quite satisfied with almost all my Lee products except the scale and powder measure that came with my anniversary kit, they were both junk and were replaced long ago with an RCBS scale and a Redding powder measure.

Congrats on the new press. I saw the Classic Cast at a gunshow right after they came out and really liked it. Bet it would take more strength than I have to get one to flex. I was going to buy one for myself but lucked into a dirt cheap RCBS Rock Chucker on Craig's List.

I've had real good luck with Lee equipment. I did have to spring for some Hornady and RCBS dies after I got a Hornady Lock N Load progrssive loader. The Lee sizing dies for 9MM, 45ACP and 380 are a tad to short. Not enough threads left to get a lock nut on securely. I've heard similar problems with Lee dies in some of Dillon's equipment but from what I've read on the net one can usually get a lock nut underneath on most Dillon presses. Wont work on my Hornady press.