Military Firearm Restoration Corner

Swede Projtect

hunter3553

Hello everyone, registered here a long time ago and just getting back on. I have a "semi sporterized" M38 swede I received as a gift from my parents 16 years ago. It has been drilled and tapped for a scope, the bolt handle heated and crudely bent to clear scope mounted on shoot through rings and a aftermarket stock. I have a son who will be old enough to begin shooting in the next few years and I'd like to hand this rifle down to him with some improvements. I would like to keep the original barrel as it was a 0 condition on the disc and it shoots wonderfully. I want to put a new trigger, safety that will allow lower scope mounts and a new bolt handle welded on. I would also like to remove the sights and have the barrel cut and crowned. As well as a new stock. I was hoping I could possiblly do some the the work myself(like sight removal. I have never done anything like this before but I'm handy with tools. I would love some suggestions or ideas on what I can do myself as well as what brands I should consider for aftermarket replacement parts.

drift out the front & rear sight base pins (keep them) & then knock off the sights with a mallet & a piece of wood. You may have to heat the rear base with a torch to get the silver-solider on there to let loose. drift back in the rear pin & peen it in or secure it with some jb weld then grind/sand it flush. Shorten the barrel to 22-21" & recrown. Sand blast the whole deal & reblue or finish off in duracoat or gun coat, you'll have a winner. I'm in the process of doing a swede right now.