Military Firearm Restoration Corner

need some advice on fixin scope mounting holes in receiver

milsurpcollector

I have a 1903A3 receiver that someone has drilled and tapped for a redfield 1 piece mount. This is the old style with only 2 holes.

The holes do not line up with the holes in the scope base so I need to redrill the rear one.

Can I plug the hole with a screw, cut it off, sand it smooth and just redrill?

I have never tried it before.

I also need to lower the rear of the scope base but I dont have access to a Mill to do it.

On the 03A3 scope base the rear has a dove tail that the mount for the rear sight fits in. The dovetail is about .030 too shallow

I dont want to try and file or grind this area out because I dont this it would look very nice anyone have any tips for that.

Thanks again

This worked for me really well, Drill the holes larger and tap so a 1/4 machine screw will fit. heat the srcew red and let cool, thread it in until it is flush on the bottom, cut it off as close to the receiver as possible . Use a hammer and punch to peen over the screw. use the dremel to grind smooth and polish. Then just drill and tap for your base. This repair isn't totally invisible but you need to look close to find it after its blued.

Hope this helps.

Roy

Guest Limpid Lizard

If t he only problem with the holes is that they do not match the receiver, modify the base. The base is cheaper and easier to replace if you make a mistake. The first rule of gunsmithing is: always modify the cheapest most expendable part that you can get away with modifying.

If you cannot take .030 from the base neatly with a file, you probably have no business trying to modify the receiver. LL

If t he only problem with the holes is that they do not match the receiver, modify the base. The base is cheaper and easier to replace if you make a mistake. The first rule of gunsmithing is: always modify the cheapest most expendable part that you can get away with modifying.