Military Firearm Restoration Corner

New Handgun

Brenden

hey guyes. Been thinkin about getting a new hand gun and possibly my first semi-auto. I've been lookin at high point ( cuz i'm a poor college student). anybody have any of these. I've heard good and bad...know their cheap but most say they shoot good. Also who makes an affortable 22mag pistol these days, may just stick to my old hammer guns.

Brenden

Highpoint pistols are junk but they are better than being armed with fists or a knife if you're in a gunfight. If $$ are tight, consider a PA-63 from J&G. It will cost you a hundred plus what ever your dealer charges for receiving it. For a 22 mag revolver your best bet is to shop gunshows and pawnshops for used, unless you're willing to shell out a 3-4 hundred for a new Ruger. If you want a small 22 mag for concealed carry, Charter Arms and Taurus make them but the cost is on the same level as their 38's.

http://www.jgsales.com/product_info.php/ha...roducts_id/1258

A Highpoint 9mm is one of the few pistols that I have ever seen that keyholed bullets from 12 yards. It also jammed every third round. Stick with your revolvers or wait until you can afford something better than Highpoint.

Clemson

I'll say this, I haven't fired or even handled one of their pistols. Even though the shop I do lots of work for sells tons of them. I have worked on their carbines and while not my cup of tea, the folks at Highpoint have the best warranty I have ever dealt with, period. Based on that, I would suspect that if you did buy a pistol and it didn't function as expected, I'm sure they would make it right.

That said, look on the used market, especially this time of year.

listen to the wise men... avoid hipoint. it would only be a little longer to save for a better handgun. i bought a P64 for $129 + transfer a year or two ago. all steel, brand new (1974) 9x18. it's in my pocket right now...