Military Firearm Restoration Corner

One Week And Counting

724wd

As I turned from the pavement to the gravel road leading to my destination, I couldn't help but be awestruck at the sheer number of whitetails in the alfalfa field. Between 100-120 bucks, does and fawns milled about the 20 acres. Directly behind the NO HUNTING signs. Sigh.

This is my first year as a bow hunter, and I've been chasing whitetails on 60 acres with a trail camera for a little over a month now. The Human Resources Manager where I work has kindly offered to let me stumble around through the woodlots and pastures on her familial compound in a secret location north of Spokane. I turkey hunted there a couple of years ago and found that while there were birds present, they were especially call-shy and nervous. I've yet to bag a NE WA turkey. I blame their wariness, but in truth, it's probably as much my ineptitude at calling and sitting still that has kept my shotgun clean. But now I'm on the trail of deer, and there is no shortage of them in the area.

The alfalfa field I mentioned is less than 300 yards away. Every time I'm in the area, I see deer. I even managed to catch a 4 point and a spike on the trail camera I set up, along with numerous does and fawns. So the density of deer will not be cause if I fail to connect with a whitetail this year. But I seem to be putting myself at a disadvantage with every step I take, at least to most modern archery hunters.

I will be hunting from the ground. Nothing against those that utilize tree stands, but I honestly don't think I can sit that long. I've been a gun hunter for so many years, I find the prospect of watching a deer leave the area just outside of range and not being able to try for an ambush maddening! So, for this season at least, I'll be on the ground. With whitetails. With their excellent vision. Sigh.