Military Firearm Restoration Corner

What Passes As A "gunsmith" In The St. Louis Area

rdm1962

On my way back from Deer hunting on Monday I stopped for gas. In side the station there was a stack of business cards for a "gunsmith". I asked the clerk if he know the guy. "Oh yeah he's real good". I grabbed a card and went on my way. I've been looking for a real "Gunsmith" in the St. Louis area for 4 years now. My thought was to maybe get some hands on time with the stuff I've been sending to Clemson.

I called the guy. I tell him I'm going to need a barrel fitted and head spaced. I am also going to need a sporter bolt handle welded on. There is a long pause. "I've never done nothing like that before." "I'm a out of work machinist and am doing this to make ends meet." We talked for a bit. He mainly fits / replaces broken parts in Grad dads old shooter. I don't blame him for making a buck. Not a total loss. As we talked I did find out he puts together 1911's.

I would like to do more on my builds. I don't have the equipment needed or money to buy it. As it is it takes me 6+ months to finish what Bill starts for me. So I guess I'll still be sending my stuff off to Clemson.

Ralph

The last fella I would call a "Gunsmith" John, went out of business a decade ago...retired.

He said the cost of tools, parts, machines and insurance required him to charge at a rate that only custom work would cover and that there was not enough of that to pay the bills.

The other so called "Gunsmith" down the block..was a thief.

I was in the store when he charged a fella 35 bucks to remove a case that was stuck in a chamber, casehead separation on a bolt action with the right tool, it took all of 30 seconds.

John would have done it for free if he knew you or charged $5 if he did not.

That is when I started to learn to fix my own guns.

karl

The last fella I would call a "Gunsmith" John, went out of business a decade ago...retired.